The Britton Residence at 79 King St, East is #28 on the Town of Gananoque’s self guided tour. Its description there reads:
“This imposing sandstone building housed the family of D.F. Britton a prominent town merchant. Mr Britton started the town’s weekly newspaper, the Gananoque Reporter at this King St East site in 1860. he was the initial publisher.” (Copies of the tour are, available at the Gananoque and 1000 Island Visitor Centre, 10 King East.)
Some additional interesting facts about this building:
– at least some of the sandstone used in the building was that removed to make the basement.
– the building is currently the sales office for heritage buildings being repurposed from industrial to residential and office space.
An interesting fact about the area:
– The building across the street at 84 King St, East now Niki’s Consignment store was Mr Btittons General Store, #29 on the Town of Gananoque’s self guided tour. Its description there reads: “This store was the Town’s oldest continuing business which started with a general store operated by Joel Stone at Main and Mill Street. This building also served as the post office from 1885 to 1887. From 1904-2010 the building housed the R.J. Deir & Sons family clothing business.”