Atkinson House at 90 Stone St, South is #23 on the Town of Gananoque’s self guided tour. Its description there reads:
“This magnificent building was built in 1859 by Dr. E.L. Atkinson, founder of the St. Lawrence Steel and Wire Co. The bricks were brought over to Canada from Scotland as ballast on a ship. The building gets its’ name from the Trinity district of Scotland from which the bricks were sourced.” (Copies of the tour are available at the Gananoque and 1000 Island Visitor Centre, 10 King East.)
Some additional interesting facts about the Atkinson House:
– For a while this building was home to two Atkinson brothers, both doctor’s.
– There are at least 3 other building in Gananoque with similar door inserts.